A look at narcissism

Aloha and warm wishes everyone

After writing the blogs about the selfies and narcissism, I am concentrating on this blog post mainly about further thoughts on narcissism.

Looking through various studies about this dysfunctional personality, one thing is clear to me as it is the onset being some sort of emotional wound they experienced.  It was so bad that they had to resort to manipulation of others to get rid of this pain and through constant usage of this “coping mechanism”, they seem to have done two things:

  • Changed the structure of their brain – the empathic areas of the brain have just withered away.
  • There is a mechanism akin to a drug addiction in operation in their brains.

Vamp psychopath

This picture is about how the narcissist takes your energy to get their “high” amongst other things.

Combine these major aspects together, and you will be able to see the reason why these “people” – I do that because they appear to be dead emotionally, do what they do to get this “high” they get.

A lot of people reading this will either have thoughts of, “Well, they can’t be that bad!” or listening to the media with sensitising things.  As I have personally been a target of a narcissist, this is usually where people switch off and say, I have no psychology qualifications and am not a doctor.  I do however have a MSc which has some social science and an intermediate 2 in Psychology and studying for my higher, I know it is not a degree, but I also have an interest in neuroscience and all this combined gives me a good base to have an informed opinion on this subject matter, both as someone who has been on the other end, and in the clinical setting.

In my next blog on narcissism, I will discuss the psychological research on this Class B Personality Disorder.  But this blog is about my own personal thoughts on this not very well known sociopathy.  To those who have been affected by the smearing and the general fall out of the predator aspect of narcissism – if you threaten them in being good at doing something or being well liked, then expect them to sabotage your career and make people think you are a psycho.  Just pure projection and it hits you even worse as you didn’t do anything wrong, just be a target of a predator who hurts to make themselves feel better.

Narc

This is how I personally felt about formally reporting my own incidence of this.  I didn’t ask for it, yet “It takes two to tango” came up.

I will go more into the psychology and science in the next blog.

Until next time

🙂

Leave a comment